Board of Directors

The Board of Directors (BoD) of LEARN consists of sixteen members, representing each of the sixteen full-member institutions. The BoD is chaired by the representative of the University Grants Commission. Each director holds office for a period of one year. They may be re-appointed by the respective full-member institutions for further terms.

The BoD meets approximately every two months.

The members of the current Board of Directors are:

Prof. P. S. M. Gunaratne of University Grants Commission


Prof. K. P. Hewagamage of University of Colombo
Mr. A. L. S. Saabith of Eastern University
Dr. E. Y. A. Charles of University of Jaffna
Dr. Shantha Fernando of University of Moratuwa
Dr. Asitha Bandaranayaka of University of Peradeniya
Dr. W. J. S. K. Weerakkody of Wayamba University
Dr. Sisira Ediriweera of Uva Wellassa University
Dr. Pathirage Gamini Wijayarathna of University of Kelaniya
Dr. Jayalath B. Ekanayake of Sabaragamuwa University
Mr. M. B. M. Irshad of South Eastern University
Mr. S. A. S. Lorensuhewa of University of Ruhuna
Mr. Harsha Kumara Munasinghe of University of Sri Jayawardenapura
Mr. J. M. U. T. Jayamanne of Open University
Ms. Kamani Samarasinghe of University of the Visual and Performing Arts
Mr. N. S. Weerakoon of Rajarata University